Home / Exam Info / Civil Services Exam
Civil Services Exam by UPSC | IASaspirants.com
Civil Services Exam by UPSC | IASaspirants.com

Civil Services Exam

Civil Services Exam is one of the most coveted examination in India. Civil Services Exam is also referred as IAS exam. The Civil Services Exam is a nationwide competitive examination conducted by New Delhi based Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) for recruitment to the various Civil Services of the Government of India, including Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Revenue Service (IRS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and among others.

Civil Services Exam period or cycle

Every year the notification for Civil Services Exam is made by UPSC. The notification is carried out usually in the month of January. Preliminary examinations are held in August. Mains examinations are held in December. Interview or Personality Test are held in April in subsequent year. While final results are declared after two months. As a result the whole cycle from notification to final result is of about one and half years.

Civil Services Exam and related services

Various services for which Civil Services Exam is conducted by UPSC is given below:

  1. Indian Administrative Service
  2. Indian Foreign Service
  3. Indian Police Service
  4. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’
  5. Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  6. Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’
  7. Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  8. Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’
  9. Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Administration)
  10. Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’
  11. Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  12. Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’
  13. Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  14. Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’
  15. Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’
  16. Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’
  17. Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’
  18. Indian Trade Service, Group ‘A’ (Gr. III)
  19. Indian Corporate Law Service, Group “A”
  20. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)
  21. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’
  22. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group ‘B’
  23. Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’
  24. Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

For more details on UPSC Civil Services Exam visit http://www.upsc.gov.in

User Rating: 4.9 ( 1 votes)

About Editor

Editor of www.IASaspirants.com -- one of the leading portal for preparation of Civil Services Exam conducted by UPSC, New Delhi. You will get every information, inspiration, books, notes, guides, previous years papers, practice papers, etc. you need to get SUCCESS in exam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *